Options

Bachelor Degree

aaronjaaronj Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
I currently have my A+ and Network+ certifications, I also graduated from ITT with a Associate Degree in Computer Networking Systems.

I have been working for a large company for a little over 2 years now in their hardware department. They already said they want to promote me to Senior Technician which is a big pay raise but I don't really see myself staying in hardware, it is just boring to me.

I'm wanting to get into a network position and I'm wondering what I should be doing to get a job like that in the future. I'm thinking about going back for my Bachelors Degree in Information System Security at ITT.

This will cost me around $34k probably for the additional education and I'm having a hard time figuring out if it will be worth doing this or not. I also plan on getting more certifications throughout the next two years, I just have to figure out if I'm going the Cisco or the Microsoft route.

People with experience know if the additional 2 years is worth the cost?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    $34k seems really steep for just two additional years of education. That's more than my entire BA degree will cost, and I've seen masters in infosec (Capella) for around $24k. I feel that tacking on another two years of education will be beneficial, but you may want to shop around for another school.
  • Options
    aaronjaaronj Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I can't shop around, unfortunately ITT goes through a different organization so their credits are not accredited by other Universities so I'm either stuck going back to ITT or starting all over again and work my way up to another Associates Degree then my Bachelors.
  • Options
    stlsmoorestlsmoore Member Posts: 515 ■■■□□□□□□□