CISSP Certification Straight Off The Bat?

combat.monkeycombat.monkey Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, a little wisdom if you will.

I currently have 15 years experience in law enforcement, together with a number of years in InfoSec (within UK Mil). I am conversant with JSP440 and I wish to achieve CISSP certification. My quandry is which route is the most efficient way to achieve this. I am working towards A+ and having discovered this site only today, I now realise that I should probably be jumping through a few more hoops prior to attempting my exam, particularly with regard to improving my baseline system knowledge.

I am fairly experienced at setting up home networks and configuring home systems, but I have no experience of setting up network switches, WAN's e.t.c. I really want to leave the military within the next year, so I am hoping to speed the process of certification up, although I realise that you can't fast track and expect to pick up a top flight salary.

Your comments are most welcome!
If life were like a box of chocolates, mine would be the one full of nuts.....

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The A+, Network+, and Security+ are the most common entry-level certifications. Some people tack on the Linux+ and Server+ as well. Is there a specific discipline (MS, Linux, Cisco, etc.) you want to focus on? Do you want to be doing hands-on IT work or do you want to be in more of a managerial role? The CISSP appears to be geared more towards managers and directors.

Also, be sure to check out the requirements for the CISSP. You need five years of full-time security-related work. You can knock one year off for having a qualifying degree and another for having one of the qualifying certifications. You can also look at the SSCP or becoming an (ISC)2 associate.