Passed last week, heres some thoughts.

human151human151 Member Posts: 208
Hello everyone. I passed the Network + last week, Yay for me!! I studied for months. I took a Network + class at my local college, as well as finishing up my studies with exam cram. I currently work in the I.T. industry. I have a pretty good idea of what is important and what is not. I focused my studying on what I considered important, and of course what I considered important was barely on the test, lol.

I believe that comptia may want to retool their testing in order to stay relevant And to stay respected.

Dont get me wrong, I am proud of my Cert. My employer is happy, they paid for it. But now they expect me to get my CCNA.

I can understand why they wanted to try to cover all bases, but some of those bases do not need to be covered anymore, maybe 5 years ago I could see it, but not now. Not in 2008. Has ANYONE ever seen an 10BASE2 LAN? RG-58? Where I work we only use 58 for DS3's.

Again I am very proud of my Certification, Its my first. Now that I have it I just wanted to voice some concerns I had.
Welcome to the desert of the real.

BSCI in Progress...

Cisco LAB: 1x 2509
1X2621
1x1721
2x2950
1x3550 EMI

Comments

• andygeeandygee Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You need to know older technolgy i have learned, as it will rear its ugly head at some point in your career.

Your company may not use it but some places for basic functions will keep on using that old pc untill it drops down dead or explodes.

It is also useful imo to know how things have changed and how as like most things everything goes round in circles a part for that technolgy maybe reused using new materials or breakthoughs.
  • human151human151 Member Posts: 208