Options

Custom and Priority queueing

CrunchyhippoCrunchyhippo Member Posts: 389
Could someone give me an example of Custom Queueing on a serial interface vs. Priority Queueing? I'm new to these concepts and don't quite get it. My book bites when it comes to telling you *how* to do it, not just what it is.

Thanks.
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949

Comments

• Options
    dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What book are you using? CQ and PQ are typically not used anymore with the more flexible CBWFQ and LLQ methods that are available.
    The only easy day was yesterday!
  • Options
    Well, I'm using the Cisco ONT book, but this is for my lab exercise, which is probably wanting me to have some exposure to CQ and PQ.

Specifically, for CQ it says:

"Configure custom queuing on R1's serial interface. Place each traffic stream in its own queue but do not customize any parameters of it. (The port numbers configured for the NQR streams are TCP ports 23, 21, 119, 22, and 6000). Run the NQR streams and compare results as you did before."

For PQ:

"Configure priority queuing on R1 on the serial interface facing R2. Assign one of the application protocols in use to the high priority queue, one to the medium pqueue, one to the normal queue, and make the low priority queue the default queue. Run the NQR streams and compare results as you did before."
    "Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949
  • Options
    Try this link:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/software/ios122/122cgcr/fqos_c/fqcprt2/qcfconmg.htm#wp1000934

As for what the lab is trying to get you to do is place different types of traffic into the different queues (up to 16 for CQ and 4 for PQ)
  • Options
    The link helped considerably. Here are some questions I was given that I didn't know the answer to , though:

1. What is the DSCP binary value for EF?