Options

Bus/Train to work?

KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
I was contacted about a decent job in Pasadena california, which is 40 miles away from me. I'm use to driving over 50 miles to get to work so this would be a no-brainer for me...but I don't have my car at the moment(I'm new to LA), and mostly rely on a friend to drop me off for interviews and such.

He has a job too, so I can't take jobs that are too far away. >_<
Anyone have some tips to offer?

Taxis seem expensive at $3/mile and I don't know how the bus system works or how to find a bus.
Present goals: MCAS, MCSA, 70-680

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Most cities have route-planning online. It looks like yours would be here: http://www.metro.net/default.asp

Busing around can be nice if you can find a seat and read or something. It allows you to be productive instead of just being stuck behind the wheel of your car. It can be a nightmare if the bus is too crowded though. You could try leaving early and returning late to avoid some of the congestion.

If you have some down time, hop on, ride around, and see how you like it.
  • Options
    Do you just hop on, pay a toll and get to stay on and stroll around town as long as you want? I've never rode a bus before so I'm not sure how they operate...but trying one wouldn't be a bad idea unless they are going to charge me at every destination or something.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□