VPC2007- how to do routing ?

indyguyindyguy Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
hi all

Im a newbie to advanced networking with RRAS.
And i am running a virtual machine with VPC2007 and all of these 3 OS`s are networked and work fine
1x win2003 domain controller
1x win2003 member server
1x win-xp client
and now i want to learn routing and remote access
I want to create a diff network with a diff subnetmask
so if i create the same config as above with different subnet

How do i get these 2 networks to communicate to each other.

in a real world u need a router to do the job

How can i do this task in VPC

i might be all nuts here .. but just dont have the money to buy
additional kit ... just have one system trying to do my best here with it ..
any ideas suggestions appreciated

thanks all

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The 2003 with RRAS will be your router. You just need to configure it with two NICs, and assign one to each subnet. Then you'll have to configure RRAS with static routes, RIP, or OSPF in order to get data routed between the two subnets.
  • dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You need to add a new network adapter to the one you want to configure for routing in the properties of the virtual pc (make sure it's turned off and not supended). Then you can configure one of the devices on a host only LAN to simulate the inside network and bridge the other adapter to the real network so you can route to it.
    The only easy day was yesterday!
  • indyguyindyguy Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote:
    The 2003 with RRAS will be your router. You just need to configure it with two NICs, and assign one to each subnet. Then you'll have to configure RRAS with static routes, RIP, or OSPF in order to get data routed between the two subnets.

cheers for that mate ... will try it when i get home today ....
    just to clarify the other subnet2 can have its own domain controller though yeah ... ??