Blocking unauthorized RJ45 access

BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
Happy Hump Day,

As you may (or may not remember) I recently started a new job this monday (thanks again for all of the tips and advice BTW).

Anyways, I have been tasked by my manager to help come up with a solution to block unauthorized RJ45 access to our network in a new building which should be completed by this summer. This buildi ng will house staff and assisted living people (I work in healthcare). We dont want anyone (especially the bene's to access our network)

He has asked me to come up with a solution to prevent this from happening. The only 2 things i can come up are an IDS and a switch which can "sense" this type of access except by then i would think it would too late.

I know where i used to work they had "port locking enabled" where if we did station moves or someone plugged in a laptop it would "lock" the port down until IT came down and "unlocked" it. How is this done and what device would do it? That sounds EXACTLY what I am looking for but google turns up squat icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks all in advance
Mark Twain

“If I cannot drink Bourbon and smoke cigars in Heaven than I shall not go.

Comments

• shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    Breadfan wrote:
    Happy Hump Day,

As you may (or may not remember) I recently started a new job this monday (thanks again for all of the tips and advice BTW).

Anyways, I have been tasked by my manager to help come up with a solution to block unauthorized RJ45 access to our network in a new building which should be completed by this summer. This buildi ng will house staff and assisted living people (I work in healthcare). We dont want anyone (especially the bene's to access our network)

He has asked me to come up with a solution to prevent this from happening. The only 2 things i can come up are an IDS and a switch which can "sense" this type of access except by then i would think it would too late.