Options

Subnetting Question??

GPUGPU Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
First, let me introduce myself :D :

I'm a proud guest of Tech Exams site, I feel like I'm sorrounded by the best IT guys in the world when I come here. I actually was encouraged by a couple of your posts to take the CCNA after passing the Network+ and A+ exams.

................ Thanks to the Founder of Tech Exams your your website, you are appreciated!......

Okay now that we've met, heres my question;

On page 142 of the CCNA 640-802 six edition sybex book is a network. I'm confused as to how VLSM (or Subnetting, if both means the same thing works). The impression that I'm getting is that for an entire network of routers and switches you can only use one class. Is this true?

I thought class A, B, and C all can communicate once you have a router. I know they can't if you have switches of cource?

Can you clarify this for me please? icon_eek.gif
"A pyramid isn't built in one day my son" - Wise man
"How long does it take to build one?" - You
"As long as it takes!" - Wise man

A word to the wise

Comments

• Options
    flipmadflipmad Member Posts: 184
    VLSM is used in the event your are using CLASSLESS routing. This means you are using different subnets.

Classfull routing is when all of your networks communicate on the same subnet mask.
  • Options
    TMM3TMM3 Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If you think about it VLSM (Variable Length Subnet Mask) means that the subnet mask can be of varying length and doesn't have to be fixed to the class. Hence you can subnet.
    Yes, you need a router or Layer 3 switch to communicate between different subnets or classes of ip addresses.
  • Options
    What I'm really trying to ask is, can you use different class addresses in a network?

And if you can, why do you need to subnet?

A word to the wise
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Yes you can use different classes in a network.