CCNA Newbie - Lab Setup Question - Updated Question!

dottore11dottore11 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys - before I get into this post, let me just say I have read the FAQ and thoroughly searched.. and well, I'm thoroughly confused =] Here goes.

I'm a student at our high school's cisco networking academy, currently in the second semester of it. Unfortunately, our school doesn't offer the other 2 semesters, so I will have to independent study those. The lab at school I've been working at has 2 2501s and 2 switches, I think 1900 series... Yeah pretty basic. I've decided to begin gathering equipment for a home lab, as I enter the more advanced labs and began studying.

I have a budget of 300-400 dollars max. I need to know:

How helpful are having 3 routers for your CCNA? I think I probably will want to go on for a CCNP, but I am still a little uncertain. I definitely want to pursue the CCNA though. Can one of the three act as a frame relay switch in the setup, or that doesn't count?

Basically, I am trying to decide which of the following configs to buy:

- 3 2500 series routers and a cheap switch (1900 or something)
- 2 2500 series routers and a 2610
- Or something you recommend! I'm totally new to this, so based on my budget, what would you buy?

What do I miss by only having two routers? Would it be hard to pass CCNA with only two?

Thanks all.

David

Comments

• freetechfreetech Member Posts: 154
    As I recall, three are routers are really helpful, especially if you want to make one your Frame Relay Switch. Doing the Frame Relay Switch is highly recomended. Some of the routing labs are really helped by having three routers.
    2500's are good budget routers, and will do for CCNA studies. But as you progress to CCNP and beyond, they will be more and more limited in what they can do.