NTFS Files & Folder Permissions driving me crazy

nazzeemnazzeem Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I passed 70-270 but NTFS permissions still drive me crazy. Am I not suppost to know this stuff? I looked at technet, bit the info given is all in Windows Help as well.

Basically say I have a share on a Windows 2003 Server.

Users must be able to:

1.) Create new Files & Folders in the share.
2.) Rename files & Folders in the share.
3.) Edit / Append Data to Files.
4.) Not be able to Delete Folders / Files.
5.) Not be able to drag n drop Files & Folders to a different place in the share.

How do I get this working without giving users delete permission. I find that if they dont have delete permission, then they cant rename files / folders.

Comments

• bigredfighterbigredfighter Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Im sorry if im wrong bcos im only studying for my 70-290 now but why not just give single write permissions.
  • nazzeemnazzeem Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Im sorry if im wrong bcos im only studying for my 70-290 now but why not just give single write permissions.

By doing this then they cannot rename files and folders. But it will stop them from deleting files & folders.
  • pryde7pryde7 Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It takes two to work the trick!!! NTFS and Share permissions. Make sure you understand both and how u can combine both to obtain a desired permission.

Note that share permissions have no local significance, only when users connect to the share through the network.

You apply both permissions and then take a look at the effective permission of that share. It's much easier if you use groups rather than individual users.
  • nazzeemnazzeem Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    pryde7 wrote:
    It takes two to work the trick!!! NTFS and Share permissions. Make sure you understand both and how u can combine both to obtain a desired permission.

Note that share permissions have no local significance, only when users connect to the share through the network.