Options

How should I ask my boss to help me get certified?

ZoomerZoomer Member Posts: 126
I've been a system admin for over a year now at this small company. Now we are expanding greatly and some of the equipment we are getting may require some more technical knowledge. My boss has expressed interest in sending me to classes on learning how to better use and secure an XServe and their Mac network. We're planning on getting a Cisco 3650 switch and an ASA 5505 for our Windows network. They want to setup VLANs and add all this new security, but don't want to hire anyone else to help adminster it. They want me to do it (cheaper I suppose).

Now I wanted to approach my boss and ask about possibly helping me get certified (CCNA mostly, Security+, Net+) since I don't have any certs at the moment. I believe having better knowledge would help me troubleshoot possible problems in the future and setup any additional equipment should the need arise. But what should I ask him to do? I was thinking of asking for them to purchase the CBT Nuggets series videos to help me out. I don't like the idea of those expensive 3 day classes. I do have some books I could read through, but having more visual aids is how I learn the best.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: Oh sorry, this might be in the wrong forum. Feel free to move it. :)

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I have my employer pay for CBT Nuggets, a subscription to Safari, Transcenders, and the exam fee. I occasionally have throw in an extra written resource if I can't find it on Safari. That covers all the bases for me.
  • Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Definitely ask for CBTNuggets -- not only can you go back and review them to your heart's content, but other employees may also be able to benefit from them. Get more bang for your employer's buck :)