Options

Passed - 689

TrigunTrigun Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi just thought I'll write a little bit on my experience with CompTIA.

I studied a hell of a lot first of all, I invested over 40 hrs and read 2 books twice, Sybex and N+ Bible, did the Trainsignal CBT training and also did a few practice tests. I MADE SURE that I knew all the compTIA objectives well and in-depth. Not to mention 5 years of IT experience.

Even after all that preparation there were HELL OF A LOT questions that no matter how much I would study, just would not know how to answer, and left me wondering wtf? So what could I do closed my eyes and picked something at random.

The test itself is awful, the wording is pure rubbish, the questions are lame, and contradict themselves. There were a few questions there that really had no right answer... and on retrospect there were a few questions that really had no wrong answer.

By the end of it I had 28 questions in review. I really though that I was going to flunk and held the edge of the seat when i pressed the FINISH button. This is not because I did not study and I did not know the material, I knew the material very very well, I understood everything the books had to cover and memorized all the charts, lengths etc... etc... just the questions were sooooo awful, lame. Maybe they want you to fail and at AU $420 per exam I can see why.

Oh well, and that's folks what really grinds my gears. I am glad that I studied for this as it really did teach my a lot about networking, I am happy about that. Don't regret it.

I've noticed a lot of people here had the same problem with the questions. Maybe for the people that passed and the ones that failed the 2007 exam we could make some sort of a petition for CompTIA to rethink their questions and rewrite some useless sh** to benefit the future test takers.