Options

Is it because I don't have Microsoft certifications?

tremeretremere Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
This is a cross post, I had put it in the wrong forum:

I just found this site via google, and am happily reading the posts here!

Something that is really bothering me about this tech industry (I run my own small computer-servicing business from home) is that NO ONE is responding to my resumes. On my resume, say for example I am applying for a PC Technician position, I am putting down that I have my two-year degree in Computer Information Technology and that I run my own computer-servicing business from home.

Why is it that no one is responding to me? Not that a lot of job opportunities (punching the clock for someone else) exist here in the Berkshires (western Massachusetts) actually exist. Still, does no one have enough respect for the fact that I went to college for two years AND that I service clients' computers in their homes?

Yeah, I realize that the "hiring manager" might not believe someone saying on his resume that he runs his own computer servicing business from home. Because, after all, if I am that good, why am I applying somewhere else?

Still, Berkshire Life Insurance was the last employer I applied to for a PC Technician position about two weeks ago. The HR department never bothered responding to my email (my cover letter, resume and list of references.....they suggested in the ad that this stuff be emailed to them), and when I was finally able to get through to HR, the lady lied to me. She said that the hiring manager had my application and that I would be getting a call, when all I got was a "thanks for your application, but we found someone more suitable for the position" letter).