Options

Implementing a Business Plan

ThePistonDoctorThePistonDoctor Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I'm a fresh graduate of RIT in Rochester and for lack of a better way to put this, I'm killing some time until my girlfriend gets out of school. I wrote a business plan my senior year which I received a large cash prize for and I want to work on implementing the plan. I don't want to start the business in Rochester because when my GF graduates in December I will most likely move to the Southern US (think NC/SC/GA) with her. I'm working part time at night so hopefully that will cover money I need for bills while I work on the plan during the day. My question is how would you go about implementing it?

My idea right now (since I have a lot of connections in Rochester) is just to spend a good amount of time fine-tuning the plan and making it more realistic than it is right now. once I'm done with that (let's say 2-4 weeks, full time) I want to start calling some local businesses and meeting with their C-levels to get their input/advice. Along with this advice I will throw the proposal out there for some pro-bono work to improve my experience in the subject area and also raise awareness about the idea. The goal in the end is to get the idea out and about enough that I will have some investment capital to work with when I move and want to actually get it off the ground. This obviously will not be mentioned until much, much later. The major goal in the next 6-12 months is to arouse curiosity and get a bunch of big-wigs backing me up.