Database Admin or Network Admin

iSkateiSkate Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
i'm an entry level tech working towards a help desk position and hopefully a network admin. however, everyone says "network security"- focus on that it's in demand. When i look around, it doesn't seem so in demand? It seems like everybody is going in that direction, they want to be a network admin, too. I'm sure this may be more or less due to where i'm at (san francisco), but still! Now, when i do a job search for SQL or just "database" it seems like not only a huge window of mass opportunity, but a more satisfying pay scale. Now, i'm not trying to ditch
my original focus for a few bucks, but seeing this "database developer" etc makes me wonder.... Since i'm totally clueless about database admin and haven't really heard too many of my tech friends talk about it, could you all school me on a database admin. what are the pro's and cons, how does it compare to a network admin (stress level, hours)?

Comments

• phreakphreak Member Posts: 170 ■■□□□□□□□□
    While I cannot comment much on your post topic, I can assure you that network security jobs are all over. You just have to know where to look for them. Most of them can be found on the various government job postings. The drawback for the majority of us new (less than 5 years exp.) individuals is that most of the security jobs require 5-10 years experience in multiple areas of IT expertise. The jobs that are at the top all require a good 10+ years of experience plus CISSP certification.
  • SchluepSchluep Member Posts: 346