Options

certification questions

JRF102581JRF102581 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this forum and the IT field. I am 26 and have been a musician my whole life. I pursued music performance degrees, but now I have obviously undergone a significant career change. I am currently pursuing an AS degree in IT, and am halfway through the program (12 courses). I have no experience working in the field.

My first 2 courses were A+ Hardware and Software, and we used the books "Guide to Hardware: Managing, Maintaining, and Troubleshooting, 4th ed." and "Guide to Software: Managing, Maintaining, and Troubleshooting, 4th ed." both by Jean Andrews. They are both A+ certified books. The 3rd course was Networking, in which we used the Official Microsoft book by Craig Zacker "Academic Learning Series: Network+ Certification, 4th ed."

Upon completion of my 3rd course, my instructor stressed that I take the A+ Certification (Essentials and IT Technician). With his guidance and the usage of his study material, I took the 2 A+ tests last year and passed (I'm happy to say)! So I am now A+ certified.

After that, I went on to take the Server course, utilizing the Microsoft Official Course book, "Managing and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Environment." Now, here is what I don't understand...

Upon completion of this course, my instructor stressed how important it was to pursue the Server+ certification next. He said that the Network+ cert was unnecessary to take, being that the A+ cert already covers/includes basic networking. He went on to say that acquiring Server+ is important, because it gets you Microsoft certified and you will be working with servers all the time out in the field.