Options

Is The MCSE Worth It?

Vito_CorleoneVito_Corleone Inactive Imported Users Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
New user (long time lurker, signed up so I could post this), hello everyone. This board has some really great information.

I'm currently taking MCSE classes. I've been a Windows admin for a few years, but I'm not familiar with a lot of the topics that are covered. The instructors fully admit that 95% of us will never see/use a lot of the stuff on these exams. That is mind boggling to me.

From looking at the IT market, it appears that MCSEs are severely undervalued considering the amount of time and effort put into acquiring this certification. So, to those of you who have this cert, is it worth it?

I'm considering going the Cisco route. I've done some elearning stuff for the CCENT/CCNA exam and after a week of study and playing with sims, I feel that I am ready for the CCENT exam. I have taken classes for the 290 and 291 and I don't feel remotely close to being ready for those exams. I'm considering dropping MS and going for a CCNP. It doesn't seem that the ends are worth the means with Microsoft certs.

Thoughts, anyone?

Comments

• Options
    GoldmemberGoldmember Member Posts: 277
    Godfather?

I thought you were dead.

I'll make you an offer you can't refuse.

I will give you second shot to Microsoft exam.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/offers/secondshot/default.mspx

Gracia
    CCNA, A+. MCP(70-270. 70-290), Dell SoftSkills
  • Options
    cacharocacharo Member Posts: 361
    First of all, welcome to the forums.

Sounds to me that your instructors think 95% of you will never be working in the field you are in school for. It is pretty well known that there are certain third party products out there that do a better job than certain tools MS includes in their different versions. Is 95% of the product garbage? I don't think so.