Options

70-271 vs. 70-270

Tech109Tech109 Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
Has anyone taken both 70-270 and 70-271?

I was preparing for 70-271 until my boss told me that upper management values the MCDST certification for people in my position.

Now that I'm studying for 70-271, it seems that it is similar, but much less in-depth, for example, in what level of detail you need to know regarding installation and startup issues.

Comments

• Options
    Deen54Deen54 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    70-271 and 70-272 qualifies for MCDST

70-271- you need to know how to support end users. eg..xp windows requirements, installation

from upgrade to unattended, network connectivity, folder permissons, printer issues, disk

management etc.

i write the exam next week so I have studied everything relating from a clients point of
    view.
  • Options
    pcpro215pcpro215 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I just passed my 272. M$ will ask you alot of questions on how to get to various tabs, from other tabs. They will also ask you how to open various file extensions, and what programs to open them with.
  • Options
    ...Deen, I know that 70-271 and 70-272 are for MCDST, but thanks for the attempt at an answer.

pcpro215 - what study resources did you use? The practice exams I've been using do not have many questions regarding which tabs to select, etc.

Alot of the demo exams I've found seem to be similar, and I can get the answers right. Just not sure if they are representative of the types of questions on the actual exam.
  • Options
    Nishesh.PrasadNishesh.Prasad Member Posts: 185
    hey tech109 .... i wud agree with u, 270 is more complex a paper than 271 by far. Myself, i had started 270 as my first attempt on certs & MS for that matter. I took me quite a while to hook up to it .... but things changed after i passed it & next came 271 coz i found it more Easier to cope with. used CBT Nuggets & MSPRESS which i wud consider to be more than enough. Gud luck !