Options

Mathematics for Cryptography?

vegetaholicvegetaholic Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
I see all security certs have objective related to cryptography.I have few questions regarding:

1)What Maths I should know for cryptography?
2)Should I really need to know mathematics for cryptography or I only need to know
structure of cryptography or how crypto-system works?

I know maths which will help me writing exploits and brute-force attacks.

I have little mathematics background.I know matrix,a little number theory,sets , logic,groups,
curve fitting,a bit of calculus.That's all.

I know Keatron you will take care of my problem. :P

best regards,
Vegeta
You can't kill Java because he is sun of king C.

Comments

• Options
    SchluepSchluep Member Posts: 346
    I am not a cryptography expert by any means, but hopefully this will answer your question and peak your curiosity at the same time icon_idea.gif.

Unless you are planning to write cryptographic algorithms or perform cryptanalysis you like will not have much need to be heavily involved with the mathmatic aspect. Unless you plan to be a math expert and spend a lot of time with things such as frequency analysis a basic understanding is usually sufficient for Security purposes.