Add user to a group

dogon23dogon23 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm using the McGraw Hill Osborne Linux+ Study Guide by Robb Tracy. Chapter 7 - Working with Users and Groups has the following: page 374
"Add you user account and the dtracy user account to the research group by entering groupmod -A "dtracy,your_username" research"

This is supposed to add the 2 users to the research group but it does not I had to enter the following command to add these users to the research group:
adduser dtracy research
adduser jim research

this worked (thank Ubuntu documentation) but the command from the Linux+ book did not. am I missing something here. And yes, I am very new to Linux

thanks

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    What distro (and version) are you running? Something to keep in mind is that the Linux+ training material usually assumes Fedora, but will sometimes skew off the path and use something else altogether. A lot of commands (no matter how 'standard' they are) don't work on all flavors of Linux.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • dogon23dogon23 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks for your reply
    I'm using Ununtu 7 and I'm also using the latest distro of Damn Small Linux.
    The adduser <USERNAME> <GROUPNAME> command worked for both of these distros. I am planing on installing Fedora onto a machine this weekend to start playing around with that as well. My concern is that the info in this little lab exercise in the McGraw Hill book in incorrect.