So, I Want to Get a Linux+ ...

examseekerexamseeker Member Posts: 118
Greetings:

I would like to get Linux+ certified sometime this year. I am somehow fascinated with the idea of running an open source OS that many people seem to love. I have VMWare at work and will be installing Ubuntu probably Monday. Right now, I am working on the CCNA and am preparing to apply to grad school.

However, I am new to this subject. Should I try to buy a cheap computer to mess with different flavors of Linux? What book(s) should I use to study? I will of course, use this site's study materials, but I thought I would ask here as well.

How could I use an emulator for Linux? Is it free and legal?

Thank you in advance for your help.

icon_cool.gif

Comments

• DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Instead of getting a computer, you can just get another cheap HDD and put it in your computer. Then you can mess around with Linmux on that HDD as much as you like without touching your main operating system.
  • examseekerexamseeker Member Posts: 118
    Without sounding dumb-- should I use a SATA drive with the drivers installed and just swap the Windows drive out with the Linux one? How can both run at the same time?

Thanks
  • DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What you do is install both drives in your computer at once. Put your current OS drive as master and the linux drive as slave. By default boot into your current Os. But when you want to boot into the linux drive, go to the boot menu of your BIOS at startup and choose your linux drive. In this way your current Os will be safe and you can put new linux distros without any problems.
    cool..

Would I need to format the new drive in any fashion?

Or just start the BIOS and boot to the new drive, then pop in a DVD with the iso and follow the instructions?

Thanks

icon_lol.gif
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□