Options

Passed on 04/07 -- details, advice

jdixon63jdixon63 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed: 845.

1. Journey is worthwhile -- I am a better IT professional for the prep experience.
2. Vast majority of qns were 1000 ft level (remember: domain is "mile wide, inch deep").
3. Prep per the objectives and to *understand* (not just memorize), then you will pass no problem.

For exam takers - my exam experience:
    * About 40-50% scenario qns, w/bias toward access control, IPSec, vulnerabilities, IDS * Some general symmetric/asymmetric key, but surprisingly few specific cryptography qns * 3 port qns, 3 certificate qns, a few firewall, & 8-10 straight-forward protocol qns, 1 repeat qn * A few qns with unfamiliar terms or concepts * Maybe 4-5 multiple selection qns * A few qns with no answer correct or that made no sense * A few qns that require a bit of thought * My apptmt said 120 min exam, but computer only gave me 90 min
During your exam:
    * Mark & keep count of 3 qn categories: 1) 50/50 guess; 2) total guess; 3) non-sense qns * Try to answer every qn 1st time through, even if you are not 100% sure * On review, avoid changing 1st answer, except if you have pro/con "ah-ha!" moment * Nerves & scenario qns will make you over-mark; don't! You will lose review time at end * Don't panic with unfamiliar terms & concepts (eliminate by process, make best guess) * Don't worry over obvious nonsense qns (these are probably non-scored) * For qns that require some thought, give 45 sec max 1st time, guess, mark & return at end * If after 1st time thru: <30 tallied = good shape; <20 tallied = great shape * If time permits, do full review after you've reviewed marked qns
How I prepped: