Voice over IP / Telecommunication Certs?

KalabinKalabin Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm curious if many of you hold any or know of any worth getting. Currently I work as a Telecommunication's Apprentice. It's a 8,000 hour OJT apprenticeship with 5 year's of their schooling. However the schooling is technical, but it is tailored to their specific need's. I have worked on everything from cabling 5-10 story building's with Coax, Cat5, and Fiber to working for a telephone utility as a central office hand, working within an IR crew upgrading businesses for VoIP implementation. However we do all the physical cabling, punch downs, tie cables, rack installation's etc. No actual software configuration.

Right now im going for my CCNA, in hope's that I can land a Central Office / NOC position within my current employer in time. My concern is that after I have completed my Apprenticeship with the required amount of OJT, taken the state and union exam's for my Journeyman card I still will need further training. Now, I dont want to wait until after I have completed my Apprenticeship to get going on it.

So, what certification's should I be looking for. My dream job would be working with a contractor doing everything from cabling / configuring / and setting up everything from LAN equipment, to VoIP. Is there a demand in this area, or am I most likely spending a lot of money on a career that wont produce. If I stay with my current job, i'll be comfortable, but I will not feel like im gaining anything. So im looking for the future.

Any advice is always appreciated!

Comments

• kentrgkentrg Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I think CCNA is the right step for you.

I know some people who jumped straight to voice ip without learning basics of routers and switches and they are having hard time.

Once you get your CCNA you can take the CCVP Route which i believe consists of 5 exams.
  • KalabinKalabin Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□