Options

CCNA/CCNP Lab

princesstprincesst Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I know this question has been asked 50 million times but I need some guidance. I am studying for my CCNA and then after that CCNP. I want to buy some cisco hardware instead of soley relying on the simulators. My budget is $500. Can anyone recommend a lab kit I should buy instead of buying the routers and switches piece by piece? If I cant get a complete kit then please tell me what routers and switches I should buy that can help me with my studies. Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Project2501Project2501 Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi princesst,

Recomendations lean towards 2500 series routers and Switches nothing less than a 2950.

The kits I've seen contain a decent router but a 2924 switch so I couldn't suggest any good router kits. I personaly have taken the road of buying each piece bit by bit.

Regards,
    - Pete
  • Options
    hodgey87hodgey87 Member Posts: 232
    hi,

i recently purchased some new equipment i found that ebay was very cheap for what i needed. There are many kits available on ebay however you do need to be careful as the 2924 switches as said above are really the best to have for your studies so a 2950 would be fantastic.

As for routers i tend to go for the 2500 as they are very cheap now days and provide all that i need for the ccna however if you want to go to ccnp then i would say 2610 or something like that.

IOS i would say 12.4 i think this is the best to have. I find that buying equipment piece by piece is alot cheaper than buying it all in one kit.
  • Options
    kevin31kevin31 Member Posts: 154
    Hi

Yeah Id recommend 3x 2610 and 2 x 2950's! Stick some wic cards in the 2610's and get them all runnning the same flash.

I have just got my last 2950 there seems to be alot on ebay at the moment for a reasonable price!

Kev
    LAB - 4 X 2651XM's 1 X 2620 3 X 2950 1 X 2509 AS 1 X 3550
  • Options