Options

Cross platform programming - C++ or java or Python ???

bcairnsbcairns Member Posts: 280
I have been wanting to get into cross platform programming, mainly due to the fact that I am a windows programmer (Delphi / C# / VB) and wanting to get more into Linux.

Have experience with both C++ and Java, a little with Python, but I am far from mastering those languges.

Can not decide which language to use. I like to do a bit of everything from desktop applications to web sites...been looking hard at TrollTechs QT framework and Sun Java J2EE/J2SE. have read about Mono and not sure if it would be good for serious projects....I wish Microsoft would get off their butts and make the .net framework cross platform.

Always found these forums to be a good source of information and help - just wondering if any of you out there have experience in this area?

Comments

• Options
    PashPash Member Posts: 1,600 ■■■■■□□□□□
    bcairns wrote:
    I have been wanting to get into cross platform programming, mainly due to the fact that I am a windows programmer (Delphi / C# / VB) and wanting to get more into Linux.

Have experience with both C++ and Java, a little with Python, but I am far from mastering those languges.

Can not decide which language to use. I like to do a bit of everything from desktop applications to web sites...been looking hard at TrollTechs QT framework and Sun Java J2EE/J2SE. have read about Mono and not sure if it would be good for serious projects....I wish Microsoft would get off their butts and make the .net framework cross platform.

Always found these forums to be a good source of information and help - just wondering if any of you out there have experience in this area?

XML is huge right now, it's the best cross platform language to learn for transport of data seemingly. I know some developers swear by it for use on the .net platform.