Configuring DHCP Server in AP 1231
elegua
Member Posts: 282
in CCNA & CCENT
Hi Guys,
Attempting to setup a Cisco 1200 to give out private DHCP addresses to its clients. I have added the following statements, however the AP isn't giving out any addresses.
I'm following this:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/12.2_11_JA/configuration/guide/s11adm.html#wp1057097
Am i missing something here?, the AP has a static ip assigned from my internal DHCP (statically assingned).
Thanks in advance.
Attempting to setup a Cisco 1200 to give out private DHCP addresses to its clients. I have added the following statements, however the AP isn't giving out any addresses.
! service dhcp ! no ip dhcp conflict logging ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.50.1 192.168.50.5 ! ip dhcp pool AP import all network 192.168.50.0 255.255.255.0 default-router 192.168.50.1 dns-server 206.53.48.23 206.53.60.10 4.2.2.2 lease 8 update arp ! AP#
I'm following this:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/12.2_11_JA/configuration/guide/s11adm.html#wp1057097
Am i missing something here?, the AP has a static ip assigned from my internal DHCP (statically assingned).
Thanks in advance.
Comments
-
xwesleyxwillisx Member Posts: 158Do you want to hand out dhcp addresses to your wireless clients from the same subnet that the AP is on or do you want to hand out a different scope to your wireless clients?
I.E. your network that the AP is sitting on is 192.168.50.0/24 and you want clients to be on this subnet?
or
The AP is on a different subnet and the wireless clients are on 192.168.50.0/24 (with the default-router being the AP).
I'm going to assume the 1st scenario where the clients and the AP are on 192.168.50.0/24.
If that's the case, create a bridged-virtual interface (BVI):
int BVI1
ip address 192.168.50.1 netmask 255.255.255.0
no shut
Then, assign the radio interface and the fastethernet interface to the BVI:
int dot11radio0/0
bridge-group 1
int fastethernet0/0
bridge-group 1
This bridges the 2 interfaces into 1 essentially. No ip address will be assigned to either interface. Only to the BVI.
Assuming the rest of the config is ok, your clients should now receive dhcp. -
xwesleyxwillisx Member Posts: 158Also, be sure to include the global command "bridge irb".
I don't remember if it's on by defualt or not. Use the command anyway to be sure.
Cheers! -
elegua Member Posts: 282xwesleyxwillisx wrote:Do you want to hand out dhcp addresses to your wireless clients from the same subnet that the AP is on or do you want to hand out a different scope to your wireless clients?
I.E. your network that the AP is sitting on is 192.168.50.0/24 and you want clients to be on this subnet?
or
The AP is on a different subnet and the wireless clients are on 192.168.50.0/24 (with the default-router being the AP).
I'm going to assume the 1st scenario where the clients and the AP are on 192.168.50.0/24.
If that's the case, create a bridged-virtual interface (BVI):
int BVI1
ip address 192.168.50.1 netmask 255.255.255.0
no shut
Then, assign the radio interface and the fastethernet interface to the BVI:
int dot11radio0/0
bridge-group 1
int fastethernet0/0
bridge-group 1
This bridges the 2 interfaces into 1 essentially. No ip address will be assigned to either interface. Only to the BVI.
Assuming the rest of the config is ok, your clients should now receive dhcp.
Thank you for your reply, also i have the 2 scenario, i have the AP in sutnet 192.168.5.0 and i want to lease to clients 192.168.50.0, in this case what do i have to do?.
Thanks. -
xwesleyxwillisx Member Posts: 158Forget the BVI stuff then. What configuration do you have on your dot11radio0 interface? have you assigned it the ip address 192.168.50.1 with subnet 255.255.255.0?
-
elegua Member Posts: 282xwesleyxwillisx wrote:Forget the BVI stuff then. What configuration do you have on your dot11radio0 interface? have you assigned it the ip address 192.168.50.1 with subnet 255.255.255.0?
Ok, here is my configuration on the AP:! version 12.3 no service pad service tcp-keepalives-in service tcp-keepalives-out service timestamps debug datetime msec localtime show-timezone service timestamps log datetime msec localtime show-timezone service password-encryption service sequence-numbers ! hostname AP ! logging buffered 51200 warnings no logging console no logging monitor enable secret XXXXXXXXXX ! clock timezone EST -5 clock summer-time EDT recurring ip subnet-zero no ip source-route no ip gratuitous-arps no ip domain lookup ip domain name Gateway.com ip name-server 206.53.48.23 ip name-server 206.53.60.10 ip name-server 4.2.2.2 no ip dhcp conflict logging ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.50.1 192.168.50.5 ! ip dhcp pool AP import all network 192.168.50.0 255.255.255.0 default-router 192.168.50.1 dns-server 206.53.48.23 206.53.60.10 4.2.2.2 lease 8 update arp ! ip dhcp pool MyLaptop host 192.168.50.4 255.255.255.0 client-identifier 0100.18de.9836.ed lease infinite ! ! ip ssh authentication-retries 2 ip ssh port 2212 rotary 1 ip ssh version 2 no aaa new-model ! dot11 ssid ITCS authentication open authentication key-management wpa guest-mode wpa-psk ascii XXXXXXXXXX ! ! crypto pki trustpoint TP-self-signed-3901523961 enrollment selfsigned subject-name cn=IOS-Self-Signed-Certificate-3901523961 revocation-check none rsakeypair TP-self-signed-3901523961 ! ! crypto ca certificate chain TP-self-signed-3901523961 certificate self-signed 01 3082022B 30820194 A0030201 02020101 300D0609 2A864886 F70D0101 04050030 31312F30 2D060355 04031326 494F532D 53656C66 2D536967 6E65642D 43657274 69666963 6174652D 33393031 35323339 3631301E 170D3032 30333031 30303232 33395A17 0D323030 31303130 30303030 305A3031 312F302D 06035504 03132649 4F532D53 656C662D 5369676E 65642D43 65727469 66696361 74652D33 39303135 32333936 3130819F 300D0609 2A864886 F70D0101 01050003 818D0030 81890281 8100F850 C6716C31 F8C77108 1A869785 0726FA04 E14BE218 2CEE4C4E D76EC8A2 8368C16E 31648402 EDFC1C6F 03F78235 AA7FDB35 38DC53F8 655CD6EE 0CD70EF0 3D2B52D1 E98974CA ABFE52AB 0621537C 7150915A CCA7040B 8DB19EBF 20B94741 21C92290 2EFF0E6F 478948D0 72142357 8CC2A49F 27DD8015 01CC931D 14E95C17 A3FB0203 010001A3 53305130 0F060355 1D130101 FF040530 030101FF 301F0603 551D2304 18301680 1478501C 0BAF1979 10A0CB52 42E299FF 1B1EA613 AF301D06 03551D0E 04160414 78501C0B AF197910 A0CB5242 E299FF1B 1EA613AF 300D0609 2A864886 F70D0101 04050003 818100CC DA4E05A0 35E21A96 FBA89E8C 993CA52A 905720AE 9386E601 33BBF9D3 D6169D06 F52BB51B 6FFE44DA E633EE5C 8F900462 33A36FE1 E7BF8BFF B177C989 E81E179D 8156A24A D75D1520 67B72D59 2058241E 6B00E7F6 FF55E628 7FDAB68E 0418E5EC F3463137 91EAB6B6 472D5F16 2938C43C E42DFD23 B398AF07 D09E8C54 BC58AC quit username admin privilege 15 secret XXXXXXXXXX archive log config hidekeys path tftp://192.168.2.4/cfg-$h write-memory time-period 1440 ! bridge irb ! ! interface Dot11Radio0 ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0 no ip route-cache ! encryption mode ciphers tkip ! ssid ITCS ! speed basic-6.0 9.0 11.0 12.0 18.0 24.0 36.0 48.0 54.0 channel 2412 station-role root antenna gain 128 world-mode dot11d country CA both no cdp enable bridge-group 1 bridge-group 1 subscriber-loop-control bridge-group 1 block-unknown-source no bridge-group 1 source-learning no bridge-group 1 unicast-flooding bridge-group 1 spanning-disabled ! interface FastEthernet0 no ip address no ip route-cache duplex auto speed auto no cdp enable bridge-group 1 no bridge-group 1 source-learning bridge-group 1 spanning-disabled ! interface BVI1 ip address 192.168.5.4 255.255.255.0 no ip route-cache ! no ip http server ip http secure-server ip http help-path [url]http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/779/smbiz/prodconfig/help/eag[/url] ! no cdp run bridge 1 route ip ! ! ! line con 0 exec-timeout 0 0 password XXXXXXXXXX logging synchronous login line vty 0 4 logging synchronous login local rotary 1 transport input ssh ! end
Do you see anything wrong here?.
Thanks. -
xwesleyxwillisx Member Posts: 158Ok, for starters. Remove the dot11radio0 interface from bridge group 1. Remove all of these commands from dot11radio0:
bridge-group 1
bridge-group 1 subscriber-loop-control
bridge-group 1 block-unknown-source
no bridge-group 1 source-learning
no bridge-group 1 unicast-flooding
bridge-group 1 spanning-disabled
If you want my opinion, I would just put your wireless clients on the same subnet as the AP (192.168.5.0/24). If you change your mind and bridge them disregard the commands I just said to remove and follow my instructions from my 1st post.
Otherwise, you are going to have to configure a trunk port on the switch the AP is plugged in to. Then, you are going to have to trunk the ethernet port on the AP and create subinterfaces (1 for the AP and 1 for the clients). -
elegua Member Posts: 282xwesleyxwillisx wrote:Ok, for starters. Remove the dot11radio0 interface from bridge group 1. Remove all of these commands from dot11radio0:
bridge-group 1
bridge-group 1 subscriber-loop-control
bridge-group 1 block-unknown-source
no bridge-group 1 source-learning
no bridge-group 1 unicast-flooding
bridge-group 1 spanning-disabled
If you want my opinion, I would just put your wireless clients on the same subnet as the AP (192.168.5.0/24). If you change your mind and bridge them disregard the commands I just said to remove and follow my instructions from my 1st post.
Otherwise, you are going to have to configure a trunk port on the switch the AP is plugged in to. Then, you are going to have to trunk the ethernet port on the AP and create subinterfaces (1 for the AP and 1 for the clients).
Hi,
Thank you for your help, i understand what you're saying but i go with the second opcion, i'll configure the AP to lease different subnet, i'll erase the configuration again and start over (best way to learn), do you know where can i find a web or something that explain this?, how to create this subinterfaces and all that stuff? , i don't want to bother you with all these questions but if you can help me will be very good.
Thank you for your help. -
elegua Member Posts: 282xwesleyxwillisx wrote:Ok, for starters. Remove the dot11radio0 interface from bridge group 1. Remove all of these commands from dot11radio0:
bridge-group 1
bridge-group 1 subscriber-loop-control
bridge-group 1 block-unknown-source
no bridge-group 1 source-learning
no bridge-group 1 unicast-flooding
bridge-group 1 spanning-disabled
If you want my opinion, I would just put your wireless clients on the same subnet as the AP (192.168.5.0/24). If you change your mind and bridge them disregard the commands I just said to remove and follow my instructions from my 1st post.
Otherwise, you are going to have to configure a trunk port on the switch the AP is plugged in to. Then, you are going to have to trunk the ethernet port on the AP and create subinterfaces (1 for the AP and 1 for the clients).
Hi,
When i try to remove these commands i got a messege saying that bridge-group 1 cannot be remove from the dot11radio0 interface, is any other to remove those cmds?.
Thanks.