Programming: Where to Begin : O

cussetacusseta Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
OK - I am BRAND NEW to the world of programming (that's actually an understatement). My 1st programming book, which I just purchased, is "Thinking in Java" by Bruce Eckel. I quickly found out that this is an intermediate level book on Java and that I needed to go a few hundred steps backwards before I open this book again.

The introduction mentioned a free "web seminar" on C that I could use to begin my studies. It also mentioned that I was going to need a C++ Compiler if I was going to use that seminar. I guess my question is... Are there any good, free (specific) compilers that you recommend. I googled "free C++ compiler" and was overwhelmed by the results.

Also, I generally learn best through reading, so if anyone knows of any good sites that may be useful to someone JUST STARTING OUT, that would be extremely helpful.

Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
Sometimes you've got to prove to your friends that you're still worth a damn!

Comments

• Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Hey! I don't do much programming. But I knock out some VB with SQL here and there.

I would say start with Visual Basic .Net It's free and full of amazing resources online for. But if you prefer Linux, you should learn C/C++.

Visual Basic Route -
    So I would jump on www.vtc.com and learn VBScript from there. Their videos are great. Pick up the book Microsoft VBScript Step by Step.

Once you think you got the hang of Vbscript down you'll get deeper into Visual Basic. Probably the book Microsoft Visual Basic 2008 Step by Step is a good idea. Since the other ones were good.

From there you need to start learning things like SQL, ADO and start learning C#.

Linux -
    The C programming guide on www.vtc.com is very good. It covers both Linux and Windows and goes very slowly. [/u]
    -Daniel
  • remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499