Cert virgin - need advice

Sumo2000Sumo2000 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I know this is a little broad but I would like any and all advice from YOU the people who are in the field and have the experience.

I have no true work experience or education in this field. I have always been interested and love working with computers and have hated most other jobs that I have done. The only job that I enjoyed at all is as a part time computer trouble shooter for a small doctors office. It was basically helping friends get their comp systems a little more smoothed out, and they loved it. Hell, I did just about as much filing as working on their system.

I am not sure exactly where to start. I know I will need to work my way up in job experience and certs, so I dont expect to be rolling in dough within a few months. My only experience is in windows and I am pretty good at trouble shooting basic problems both software and hardware. I am basically interested in network administration... I think. Thats the problem, I dont have enough experience
to know exactly how or where to proceed.

I have decided that it is about **** time I got my rear in gear. Please help me with your advice as to what place is the best to start in. I am not asking you to tell me what to do but more what worked for you.

Thank you for anything and everything you have to say.

Comments

• nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    CompTIA's A+ is pretty much the definitive entry level cert. It goes into basic software/hardware troubleshooting and will provide a great foundation for you.

here's a link to their site with more info: http://certification.comptia.org/a/default.aspx
    WIP: IPS exam
    You also might want to look into technical schools/community colleges near you to pick up some technology classes for cheap (not to mention its a great way to meet people with similar interests).
  • Sumo2000Sumo2000 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□