Options

Do you take breaks?

Hello all,

Heres my situation. I'm a student with one year experience in the IT field, recently i passed my 70-20 and the month before i passed my A+... probally 3 weeks seperating them. I aiming for MCSA no time frame... So I dont have a job at the moment and but am looking. Now what im wondering is should i continue working on my certs or should I focus on getting a job and gain more experience before proceeding? I was thinking of going for my Net + next.. Any advice would be nice. Thanks ahead of time.

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I don't take breaks because I love what I do and love learning about it.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    I take breaks from hard studying for specific exams after achieving major certifications, but that's like when I achieve MCSE or something like that. The breaks are rarely ever very long. The last break of any significant length of time was after I upgraded my MCSE to 2003, and that was about a month before I began studying for ISA 2004.

The only other time I'm not prepping for exams is when work gets so hectic I simply don't have the time, and that means there's other learning going on. Currently, I'm having to postpone my 70-620 exam due to having to deploy an MSA storage array, Symantec Enterprise Vault, and Office Communication Server, none of which I've deployed in production before.

Otherwise, even on vacation, I keep a book of what I'm prepping for with me in case I have downtime to read.

The last time I felt lazy for a significant amount of time was my previous job, and once I realized I just wasn't learning or motivated due to the job, I got out of there. Stagnation in this industry is a bad thing.
    Good luck to all!
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□