New here

drew2000drew2000 Member Posts: 290
Hey Guys,
I'm thinking about going for the CCENT or CCNA. I'd like to get the CCNA but I like the idea of the CCENT as a baby step.

I have plenty of networking experience, and the 70-291 Microsoft exam was my strongest score (900). My buddies at work say I should just go straight for CCNA, but I have a new baby (6 weeks old) so I have no time and get no sleep! icon_confused.gif

So I probably won't start studying for a couple of months, but I wanted to dip my toe in and start looking around.

I used TechExams Technotes heavily as an aide when I passed my Sec+ a few months ago. It would have been smart to have done the Sec+ before the MCSE, but oh well!

Later!

Drew

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The only downsides of the two-test route are that you have to pay for an additional test and make another trip out to the test center. If those things don't bother you, you might as well take baby steps. All the equipment, books, etc. are going to be the same.
  • aragoen_celtdraaragoen_celtdra Member Posts: 246
    Welcome Drew! I myself am taking the two step route. So far it's working quite fine for me. I passed the first one at the end of March, and am taking the next one next week (june 28 ) so wish me luck icon_wink.gif

Come back often and let us know how you're progressing.

Oh, and congrats with the new baby! First one? It does get better and you get used to the late nigh/early morning meal calls. Mine is 2 now and he still likes to wake up in the middle of the night and yell for mama or papa. icon_lol.gif
    CCIE Wr: In Progress...
    Hours CCIE Wr Prep: 309:03:52
    Follow my study progress at Route My World!
    My CCIE Thread
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The upside to the two exam route is you now get another line to add to your resume -- the CCENT.