Options

Which Linux Version for networking?

pLuhhmmpLuhhmm Member Posts: 146
Ok just got a new laptop plan on 3x booting, xp,linux,vista ultimate. What I would like to know is which version of linux is used in networking i basicly wanna use this as a learning experience for the field and help with future certs.
Ever wonder what makes special sauce so special? YO!

Comments

• Options
    scheistermeisterscheistermeister Member Posts: 748 ■□□□□□□□□□
    They all are. Each is distribution is different mainly by which applications are distributed with it and the package manager (and precompiled kernel options). If you have plenty of time and want to learn I suggest Gentoo, but that is because that is what I run icon_lol.gif CentOS is like Red Hat though.
    Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    Well being a linux/unix admin I would say you could use any version of linux for networking.

However there are few flavors that are more dominate in the professional world.

Redhat, fedor, and cent are all pretty common.

Suse is also very common (a big plus here is that there is enterprise support for vmware).

So I would focus on one of those versions.
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    If this is your first Linux experience you can't beat Ubuntu, then switch to redhat as your pursue your certs.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Don't forget about OpenSUSE. Version 11 just came out, and it looks pretty nice. Otherwise, I'd go with Ubuntu or Fedora.
  • Options
    remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499