Options

Certification worth it?

james3302james3302 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Say there are 1 million people out there with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science/Comuter Information Systems. I am now lumped in with them. If I get a MCSD.Net or a Java Cert I will then be lumped into a pile of 750,000 people. Sure I will be competing with less people for jobs, but still there are sooo many people out there with certs how are we going to differentiate outselves from each other. I have no work experience, I have been told no work experience and certs are not a good idea. But isn't it good to stay updated even when unemployed/underemployed. I am looking towards getting a MCSD.Net with the SQL Server 2000 elective and a Java cert or two. I am also hoping to volunteer for some open source projects to try to make up for me not having any work experience. I am also trying right now to get a help desk/tech support job towards Atlanta. I have worked tech support/customer support for 1 year and 2 months.

Comments

• Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    Are there a million people with bachelors in Compute Science/related fields? That just seems high, considering the percentage of people overall that have any type of bachelors is somewhat low.
  • Options
    2lazybutsmart2lazybutsmart Member Posts: 1,119
    You know what I believe, just get as many credentials as you can and wait for your chance. If you think you're competing with a million people, you're gonna go crazy and you'll never accomplish anything. Every person in that million is subject to the same competition you're facing from the remaining 999K.