Options

I Don't Have Any References - What To Do?

proteus71proteus71 Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm not currently seeking a new job, but might after I get certified. Anyways, I would not have any work references to list. I have been working in my current job for 8 years. prior to that, I was in the military for 11 years. If I look for a new job, my current employer would not know about it, so I couldn't list anyone from there. I have lost contact with all co-workers from my military days. What would I do?

Comments

• Options
    Vassago68Vassago68 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    As far as the Military is concerned, I am in as well. I am pretty sure they will just go off your DD214 as your "reference". That will basically tell them all they need to know. Course, I could be wrong. Hopefully some others here can shed light on it more then I could.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If they ask for references tell them they can not contact your current employer until after you have been offered the position. Most places I have applied with ask if it is OK to contact references as they understand not everyone they hire is currently unemployed.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Agreed 100% with networker, I have always specified if I did not want them contacting my current employer.
    MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003, LPIC-1, MCP, MCTS: Vista Config, MCTS: SQL Server 2005, CCNA, A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, Linux+, BSCS (Information Systems)
  • Options
    Vassago68 wrote:
    As far as the Military is concerned, I am in as well. I am pretty sure they will just go off your DD214 as your "reference". That will basically tell them all they need to know. Course, I could be wrong. Hopefully some others here can shed light on it more then I could.