New to forum and request your thoughts on CCIE program

cblm123cblm123 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I am new to the forum and have started the CCIE journey; I plan on taking the written exam in December 08 and my goal for the lab is spring of 2010. I am about to retire from the military in Jan 09 (after 20 years) and I have many years of experience in telcom/computer networking arena (CCNP since 2001).

I would like your thoughts regarding the CCIE program:

Do you feel the prestige of the CCIE program has been diminished as the numbers grow at a fairly high rate and Cisco seems to be pushing CCDE as the premiere certification.

What is the average age of CCIE candidates? I just turned 40 and most candidates seem to be twentysomething or early thirties. I like to say I am "seasoned", but sometimes I think this is a young person's vocation. (Although, I enjoy the technical aspect of Cisco networking vice being an IT Manager)

For the folks that have made CCIE status...was it worth it? Was it worth the cost in both the financial costs and the toll on your personal/family life?

After gaining the CCIE status...did your life change?

Thank you....and I plan on going down the CCIE journey to prove to myself that I can do it...my personal Mount Everest...I want to test my self-discipline (the key to life success and happiness).

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    cblm123 wrote:
    Hello,
    I am new to the forum and have started the CCIE journey; I plan on taking the written exam in December 08 and my goal for the lab is spring of 2010. I am about to retire from the military in Jan 09 (after 20 years) and I have many years of experience in telcom/computer networking arena (CCNP since 2001).

I would like your thoughts regarding the CCIE program:

Do you feel the prestige of the CCIE program has been diminished as the numbers grow at a fairly high rate and Cisco seems to be pushing CCDE as the premiere certification.