Advice

remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499
Guys and Gals:
I am a systems administrator at a colocation company. I just obtained my CCNA and I have a dilemma. I wanted to get some advice from everyone. Being the sys admin at a small company I wear a lot of hats. I configure routers/switches, perform admin tasks on windows and nix systems, rack equipment etc. I have my Linux + and I am decent with Linux but not strong. I want to advance my nix admin skills (I want to start reading the RHCE book , not to get the cert but just to learn) as well as learn scripting, some programming (PERL) but I am also faced with whether or not I should focus on my CCNP. Any suggestions?

Comments

• sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You could always do both. Since you are not working toward the RHCE at this point you could study for CCNP and use any time you want a break from your CCNP studies and start learning RHCE level stuff. If that does not work for you then the best thing to do is to work on which topic interests you the most. Also, consider your career goals. If you think you want to be a Linux Admin in the future then hit *nix hard. If you want to be a Network Engineer or get into Voice then work on the CCNP exclusively.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499
    My dilemma is that both are utilized at my job. I don't know if I want to be a Linux Admin exclusively but I would like to have that skill under my belt, same thing goes for Cisco. Maybe since I already have my CCNA I will hit the nix stuff hard and read up on the CCNP at my leisure.
  • MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□