Options

Linux Mail Server

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
I am starting a new project at home to increase knowledge,

( Ally's Linux Mail Server Project)

O/S - Ubuntu 7.10

Ok Since I am new to this whole Mail server stuff I want to create this thread as a newbies guide to setting up a mail server, of course being new to this I will run into all sorts of problems so this is where I hope the linux vets in this forum can aid me and others in completing this project.

I will be running XP as my main O/S with Ubuntu 7.10 running through Vmware to configure the mail server and to get it up and running.

The reason why I am doing this? As I said earlier I wish to increase my knowledge and obtain skills as I am in the process of looking for charities to volunteer for, with my new server skills I can give the community back something I have learnt for free and increase my skillset in the process.

( Questions before I start)

Ok so that is the introduction out the way, Firstly there are some areas of my knowledge which are presently blank.

The first question is am I able to register a domain for free on the internet? As I need to have at least 2 email address for testing purposes.

Secondly what is the best Protocol to use Pop3 / Imap??

Lastly has anyone in this forum successfully set up a linux mail server if so can you enlighten me about the process.
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    Awesome I will be watching this one closely to implement later on when i have some time.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You can register a domain through GoDaddy, Network Solutions or dozens of other registers for $10-12/year (less if there's specials).