Options

VMware Lab

bogdan5bogdan5 Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm stuck. I'm totally new to server 2003 and network setup. In MSPress book 70-622 it says. "if your network has another DHCP server, you will need to disable it for your practice computers to be correctly configured. For this reason, it is extremely important that the computers you use are connected to an isolated network". What???

I followed all directions in the book but they don't really explain it very good.

My original network uses 192.168.1.1 (default gateway)

Lab - windows 2003 ip 192.168.10.1 same subnet as my original network.

Help please.
Going for:N+, MCSA/MCSE.

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you have two dhcp servers that are on the same network segment, when you bring a computer online there is no telling which dhcp server will lease the client an IP address. In your case, it might be the dhcp for your original "production" network (in which the client would get a 192.168.1.x address) or the dhcp server for your lab (and the client would get a 192.168.10.x address).
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    I was browsing the web and if I want internet on my virtual network i have to set up one of the virtual machines as a router.

Does anybody have any good articles with instructions how to do it.

Thanks,
  • Options
    TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
    Look up smoothwall. Quick and easy way to setup a vmware based box as a router.
  • Options
    SieSie Member Posts: 1,195