Options

Cent OS for mission Critcal server

datchchadatchcha Member Posts: 265
Forum,
I am new to linux, and wanted to know if CentOS is a wise choice for a mission critical servers? Thinking about using CentOS and running Samba for a datastore server.

Thank you
Arrakis

Comments

• Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    There are people on this forum that can answer this question better than myself but I am going to say yes I think it would be a good choice for a mission critical environment. CentOS is pretty much the same as RHEL without the name and support. But to each their own.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    sthomas wrote:
    There are people on this forum that can answer this question better than myself but I am going to say yes I think it would be a good choice for a mission critical environment. CentOS is pretty much the same as RHEL without the name and support. But to each their own.
    thanks
    Arrakis
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    CentOS should be just fine for a production (mission-critical) server. Just as with any software, it's important that you make sure you install and configure it properly, but I know from experience that there are lots of companies out there, including ISPs and television stations, that use CentOS for their servers. The only real difference between using CentOS and Red Hat Enterprise Server is that Red Hat provides service contracts with their software, so you can get help from them when you run into issues. With the free software, you're on your own.

Hope that helps, and good luck with your server.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    rfult001rfult001 Member Posts: 407
    CentOS = Excellent choice!