Options

Best way into the IT field

reaver84reaver84 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, I'm new, so I'm glad to finally post something! I really like what I see coming out of these boards. You all seem like good folk.

Anyways, I've been working with Alienware for over 4 years. I started off as Level 2 support helping call center techs with escalation/tech issues. I moved over to a Government/Corporate support for about a year until I became a Critical Issue agent working with VIP customers and doing everything to satisfy. All these positions held technical support and working closely with depots and product engineers.

After my stint at Critical Issues, I decide to get my A+ and took/passed the Essentials and IT Tech exam on first tries. That was in April. At this time, I'm about 60% through my Network+ studying and I hope to take the exam in about 2 weeks. After this, I'm curious where to go next. I've been suggested to go CCNA.

What I'm really trying to accomplish though is to stray from the Customer Service roles I've had and go straight to IT support within a company, helping corporate clients. This seems difficult at times because I'm still pursuing my AS in Computer IT. I should be done by Summer 2009.

So here are my questions. What are your takes on MCDST, MCSA and CCNA. I'm contemplating MCDST after the Network+

Thanks guys, hope to hear good stuff.

-James

Comments

• Options
    IT ManIT Man Member Posts: 159
    Well reaver84, welcome to the site!! Well, while I don't have a MCDST, it seems like it is along the lines of the A+ but just geared towards Microsoft. I am not saying its a bad cert to have, but I can't see how it could get you off the helpdesk. If you are trying to get off the support role, I would recommend going either with the CCNA or MCSA/E. Which one would depend on which direction you want to go in. You really can't go wrong with either decision being that both companies are major players in the IT world.