''Antivirus 2008'' bogus AV

hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
Has anyone seen this thing in the wild? It sucks to get rid of. My users keep getting this thing over and over on their home PCs.

I'd love to ACL/DNS Blacklist whatever crapware site this thing comes from. Anybody have any ideas?

Comments

• scheistermeisterscheistermeister Member Posts: 748 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yeah I have had to deal with it on a customer's PC before. Major PITA. Also had a site try to install it too. Someone posted up a link to a news site on a forum I am an Admin on and when I clicked it it closed all my Firefox windows and had one of those fake windows looking boxes pop-up saying I had a virus and want to install. I had forgotten to turn my pop-up blocker back on after working with the Cisco SDM. Needless to say I just killed it with the task manager and removed the link from the forum.

It was upi dotcom that triggered the pop-up.
    Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
  • bjaxxbjaxx Member Posts: 217
    Yeah I have had to deal with it on a customer's PC before. Major PITA. Also had a site try to install it too. Someone posted up a link to a news site on a forum I am an Admin on and when I clicked it it closed all my Firefox windows and had one of those fake windows looking boxes pop-up saying I had a virus and want to install. I had forgotten to turn my pop-up blocker back on after working with the Cisco SDM. Needless to say I just killed it with the task manager and removed the link from the forum.

It was upi dotcom that triggered the pop-up.

There's an 09 version out as well, how tricky.
    "You have to hate to lose more than you love to win"
  • RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Time to learn exactly how these get onto a machine and how to remove them me thinks .....

Safe mode start and some digging is required icon_wink.gif
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007