Options

IT Security Analyst

mbock7mbock7 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am majoring in Network Security at my university and will be graduating in may, i am in the process of studying for my Security+. I always look for jobs in my feild of Network Security and i see alot of Security Analyst jobs. I would like to be a Security Analyst but i am curious on what certifcations would be most desirable for an employer.
--Matt

Comments

• Options
    zen masterzen master Member Posts: 222
    My suggestion is CISSP. That is definitely the one I see being asked for most often.
  • Options
    I see that too, do you think maybe after security+ i should go for my SSCP, and then try for the CISSP?
    --Matt
  • Options
    cbigbrickcbigbrick Member Posts: 284
    And in conclusion your point was.....???

Don't get so upset...it's just ones and zeros.
  • Options
    Yeh, the thing is, one of the requirements for the CISSP is professional experience, 5 full time years of it. So, it's something that you build towards. For now, I guess you can look at doing certs like Security+ -> MCSA: Security, CCNA -> CCNA: Security, maybe even CEH or something along those lines. But, the CISSP is THE security cert.
  • Options
    gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Try looking for SOC positions in your area to gain some experience
  • Options
    What abou the CCSP ???
    --Matt
  • Options
    mbock7 wrote:
    What abou the CCSP ???

That's CISCO, and more on the technical side of networking. Are you interested in being a Cisco expert? That's no cake walk, and it's quite a few exams before you become a CCSP. The CISSP would prepare you for a less "hands on" role, and it's great for management.
  • Options
    arwesarwes Member Posts: 633 ■■■□□□□□□□