Options

p2v & san

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
Ok, so I am new to enterprise virtulization, I am watching the vmware nuggets on streaming subscription.

My company wants to look into virtualizing, so i am using powerrecon to do my workload analysis.

question 1. I am looking at using acronis to do my p2v, how does the p2v image get on my san data store / where does the image go immediatly?

question 2. I need approx. 2tb of data store I have been looking some of dell's san boxes and they are quite expensive, like 15k range, can anyone reccommend a good san solution Iscsi or Fibre that won't break the bank?

question 3. If I use a Iscsi hardware initiator does that connect directly to my Iscsi san device or some kind of special switching equiptment similar to fibre channel?

question 4. this is kinda out of the scope of my post title so forgvie me, but when I present the details of the project I am going to include training for vmware. Can anyone tell me of their experiences with training through vmware?

Thanks everyone, as always I appreciate your help.

Comments

• Options
    astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    slinuxuzer wrote:
    Ok, so I am new to enterprise virtulization, I am watching the vmware nuggets on streaming subscription.

My company wants to look into virtualizing, so i am using powerrecon to do my workload analysis.

question 1. I am looking at using acronis to do my p2v, how does the p2v image get on my san data store / where does the image go immediatly?

question 2. I need approx. 2tb of data store I have been looking some of dell's san boxes and they are quite expensive, like 15k range, can anyone reccommend a good san solution Iscsi or Fibre that won't break the bank?

question 3. If I use a Iscsi hardware initiator does that connect directly to my Iscsi san device or some kind of special switching equiptment similar to fibre channel?