Am I underpaid?

I have an Bachelors degree, MCSE, CCNA, and I am currently studying for the CCNP. I make $35,000 / year. I work level 2 support for a very well known firewall/VPN company.

Am I underpaid?

Comments

• rpsteelerpsteele Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'd say so, I have a BS with one cert (picked it up 2 months ago) and I make just over 40k doing desktop support for a non-profit.
  • LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    _maurice wrote:
    I have an Bachelors degree, MCSE, CCNA, and I am currently studying for the CCNP. I make $35,000 / year. I work level 2 support for a very well known firewall/VPN company.

Am I underpaid?

YES.

You live in Seattle not Bangladesh. You are highly qualified and 35k in that area is barely above the poverty line.

I lived there for 3 years in the mid-90's, beautiful place. Find a new gig!

Good luck
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    _maurice wrote:

Am I underpaid?

Define your job? Tier 2 could mean anything. On other hand if tier 2 help desk means, what it meant in my career...

What else have you done? If nothing, you might have over certified, which in turn makes you look paper certified. Very bad.

CCNA is a good move, but again, the CCNP should represent a couple years experience configuring routers. Might be a bad move to move forward with that.
    -Daniel
  • cdad2000cdad2000 Member Posts: 323
    I totally agree. Seattle is well in the IT loop, and with those cred you should be ranking 60K + along with full benefits, here in the big city. Go and get your 20K + raise.
  • sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    _maurice wrote:

Am I underpaid?

How much experience in IT do you have?
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • mamonomamono Member Posts: 776 ■■□□□□□□□□
    cdad2000 wrote:
    I totally agree. Seattle is well in the IT loop, and with those cred you should be ranking 60K + along with full benefits, here in the big city. Go and get your 20K + raise.