Options

IT Director.

I am fairly young, 25. I have over 8 years experience in the computer industry and I am looking to move into the IT Management area. Unfortunantly being a systems administrator for the past 5 years I have been unable to pursue my bachlors due to all the overtime work and flying. I was curious if applying for a IT Director position (all my experience has been IT administration or project management) would be asking for too much.

I really want to get more into leading cohesive teams towards a common goal on a bigger scale. I have only lead teams of 3 or 4 people in the past and have done more contracting than I can count.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    empc4000xlempc4000xl Member Posts: 322
    It all depends on where your working at. Currently at my company, all the directors have a MBA. At smaller companies I have seen them have less. At startups I've seen whoever could do the job.
    The only think they can say is no.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    It's definitely not out of the question, a lot of people work their way up through the ranks by way of experience rather than through a degree. The trick is that a degree will help you, but it's not impossible to do without it.

If I were you, I'd put my resume out there and see what happens. Apply for management-level and senior-level positions, see what comes of it. If nothing else, you'll get feedback from the potential employers on your level of experience and if the lack of a degree is hurting you. The worst that'll happen, as empc4000xl mentioned, is that they'll turn you down. You may also want to find out if your current employer, (or another employer,) would be willing to help you obtain a bachelor's degree, in which case you would have some help with financing the endeavor as well as some flexibility to study while you're still working.