Network Documentation

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well guys ive been give the task to document the network for our routers and switches etc. This is so we can get an idea of what we have and how its setup to allow us to gain a greater understanding and be able to make easier upgrade recommendations instead of the guess work that goes on now.

Although i have a few idea's i have never done this before and i was hoping a few of the pro's could give me a few idea's or links for some idea's on this. Or if there's any good examples people could point me in the direction of?

Bear in mind we have very little documentation - shocking i know - so i can shape it to how i like.

Thanks
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I love Microsoft sharepoint for this.

Place your visio document in, and hyperlink to the config files, server notes etc.
    -Daniel
  • rbutturinirbutturini Member Posts: 123
    If you've got a bit of a budget for the product, this is great:
    http://www.solarwinds.com/products/lansurveyor/

Been using it for many years and quite happy with it. Our consulting company has been tasked with this many times, and I think the key to doing good network reports is to be detailed, but not waste a lot of time documenting the most minor details if it's something that can be easily found later. I've always found it helpful to think of it from the perspective of "what if we are upgradinginx x?" What things do we need to know? and writing that kind of thing down.
  • pwjohnstonpwjohnston Member Posts: 441
    rbutturini wrote:
    If you've got a bit of a budget for the product, this is great:
    http://www.solarwinds.com/products/lansurveyor/