Stock Market: Time to Play?

rickjr13rickjr13 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Seeing as the DJI is hovering around 8200, lowest in 5 years, do you guys think it might be a good time to put some money into the market? I'm not to into the market and stocks, but I have always been told that the market always points up over time. I am especially interested in tech stock, ie google, microsoft, intel, they are all at a 52 week low...good time to buy?

Comments

• jbaellojbaello Member Posts: 1,191 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm also a noob when it comes to stock, but it would be interesting to find out some of the peeps feedback in here, I would be interested in google and apple haha, if I heard correctly apple share dropped to almost 50 %.
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    How old are you? Can you afford to leave the money in for a while?
  • learningtofly22learningtofly22 Member Posts: 159
    Now is the best time to buy, stick to market funds instead of individual stocks, they have a better chance of return. I usually put about 80% into funds and 20% into stocks to "play" with. YMMV. All depends on how old you are, how much you're willing to risk, and how much you're willing to work on it day to day. If you're the type that wants to look at your stocks every hour and decide to buy/sell, like a day trader, then your strategy will be different.
  • vsmith3rdvsmith3rd Member Posts: 142 ■■■□□□□□□□
    This is never an easy question to answer, because it depends. You have to ask yourself the following...

1. What are my financial goals?
    2. To what element of risk am I willing to expose myself?

From these two questions, will flow many more questions. Specifically, the follow up questions will be more detailed. For example...

1. Am I looking for growth or dividend income?
    2. Am I looking to invest short, medium or long term? This question can mean different things according to your age and goals.