Options

My Dilemma...

AlexMRAlexMR Member Posts: 275
Well, yesterday I passed the ICND2 and am now CCNA. I started studying the Authorized self study guide for BSCI. The thing is I am starting an MBA in this november, classes start in 4weeks and the program is very time consuming. It is unlikely that with a non cisco/IT job I will have time to study for the CCNP.

I already took the equivalent of the GMAT here in my country and I did very well, but I think the right thing to do if I want to change careers is to get the CCNP and afterward devote some time to the MBA.

Im tentatively on my journey to the CCNP. I hope to be able to master the material and pass one exam every 90days. I already went though more than 60pages of the book and the material is very interesting and clear some doubts I had while studying for the CCNA.

A friend who happens to be a CCNP, CCSP is back on the cisco track (Nortel hired him and now his cisco certs are about to expire) and he told me he was going to do the BSCI for recertification. He has lots of equipment available, and that takes out one of my biggest concerns.

Is the 90days/exam too much or could I do it in even less time? My plan is to styudy at least 7hours/week. Read the self study guide. Then study TCP/IP routing at least the part on EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP and whatever part it covers from the BSCI. After im done with those I might consider the CBT nuggets' which is supposed to be very good.

How is that for a plan?
Training/Studying for....CCNP (BSCI) and some MS.

Comments

• Options
    wat08wat08 Member Posts: 128
    AlexMR wrote:
    Is the 90days/exam too much or could I do it in even less time? My plan is to styudy at least 7hours/week. Read the self study guide. Then study TCP/IP routing at least the part on EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP and whatever part it covers from the BSCI. After im done with those I might consider the CBT Nuggets' which is supposed to be very good.

How is that for a plan?