Replace Network switches from netgear to Cisco 3560

fommyfommy Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I am swapping out 10 netgear Layer 2 switches with 10 new Cisco 3560 switches, I did not even know I did not even know I was going to get this project.

I have to plan for this, but dont really know where to start!

VLANS, Trunking, down time etc? has anyone ever done this before? I am new to cisco - so only know a few commands yet alone setting up a LAN infrastructure.

Should I set it all up first and test it? or just go for it?

Any advice would be cool, or links to a website which can assist me!!

Thanks, Matt
MCITP Enterprise Admin then CCNA - as I failed CCNA twice now. boohoo

Comments

• nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Dont rush it you fool! :D

No seriously...plan it correctly because you want to get this right first time.

We are going to need more info for what you need when you talk about which commands you need although the cisco site has great documentation on all things cisco.

First of all i would check your current network documentation if you have any. see how many vlans you have etc, which ports are the trunks, ip ranges etc etc, what type of network do you have etc . If you dont have any then you are going to have to learn the layout fast.

Then i would identify any functions you need which arent on the previous switches - Voip support for example.

When you finally configure the switches test the thoroughly and correctly - imo dont go gun ho!

Give us some more info - list of what you need etc - and we'll be able to direct you further.

one tip - dont do anything where you feel out of your depth and your not sure of the consequences of your actions.

EDIT: here are some good links for the 3560 to get you started:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps5528/products_installation_and_configuration_guides_list.html

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps5528/prod_command_reference_list.html