Options

Hardest "exam" passed....

bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
I'm happy to say that I succeeded one of the most difficult (IT related) trials that I've endured in my lifetime this past weekend.

I've been working on an upgrade project at work to swap out existing 2600/3600 series routers and 3550 switches with 6509/6513 and using ASA5520 as perimeter firewall. For the past 4 months now I've spoken to Cisco more than I have to my family but it's finally paying off.

I completed the final changes to the access-lists and things are working very nicely. Without getting into too much details, the old design involved alot of isolated vlans and a couple dozen too many static routes, some "standby" routers were used for redundancy and it was just a nightmare when problems occurred, we were swapping cables and moving switchports from different vlans to bring things back online.

I am quite new to this position but I have proven to my team that I know my cisco networking, and eventually the boss appointed me lead on this project. The new architecture uses a pair of 6509 and a 6513 with dual sup720, and two ASA5520 at the perimeter. I've implemented SSL VPN with several policies for various user groups.

I still consider myself very new to the Cisco arena (still working on my CCNP) but this project really put my mind and skills to the test. I didn't really dig into best practices and I am sure my design will be flawed if benchmarked against CCDP/CCDE level, but I'm just really glad I was able to translate most of the business requirements into solid specs implemented with cisco gear.

MLS are talking via single area OSPF, restrictions are all handled by the ASA, implemented several strange NAT/NAT Exempt rules to solve addressing problems, I've got MST implemented for L2 load balancing and redundancy, configured enhanced STP features on edge ports and uplinks ports where necessary.