Possible to study CCNA on own w/o doing course in institute?

Shaz444Shaz444 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi !
I am new to CCNA. I would like to find out if it is possible to study for a CCNA exam without enrolling for a CCNA course at an institute? I am a MCP, I passed network essentials 8 years ago and have a basic understanding of network, protocals and IP addresses. What resources are available if I choose to study on my own or what will I need just to pass CCNA exam???
If you think I should do the course just tell me?
Any suggestions appreciated.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    A lot of people here go the self study route.

Some think the Cisco CCNA Network Academy classes (offered at local Community Colleges here in the US) are helpful if you havn't studied anything for a while, need the scheduled classes to motivate you to study, or want to gain access to a real hardware lab. Having an instructor and fellow students to go to for help is also a selling point.

Check out the CCNA FAQ to get a feel for what you could be getting yourself into.

You need to acquire some hands on skills -- and a lot of us prefer and recommend using real hardware. You can build a cheap home lab or you can "get by" with a simulator (Boson or that "new one" that's coming out real soon now on the Cisco Press website).
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • TalicTalic Member Posts: 423
    I've been doing both NetAcad and the self study route. So far I've seen the advantages of both but I think the self study route with access to hardware from a college is the best route.

Pros of NetAcademy: the instructor goes over everything with you, classes are set up to motivate you to study, any questions you have are answered, the labs are pretty fun to do with other people, and the quizzes you do are pretty good challenge. You also get half off your test(s) when your done.